Robust governance structure

Seriti has implemented a robust governance structure to ensure the delivery of strategic objectives and the optimisation of risk management processes


Experienced anchor shareholders

Seriti is co-owned by four black anchor shareholders, Masimong Group, Thebe Investments Corporation,  Zungu Investments (Zico) and Community Investment Holdings (CIH).

Masimong Group Holdings is a broad-based, black owned and controlled investment company focused on mining, industrial, financial services and agri-business fields. Mike Teke and Doug Gain, who both have deep operational coal mining experience, lead the group.

Led by industry veterans Dr Anna Mokgokong and Joe Madungandaba, Community Investment Holdings (CIH) is a 100% black-owned conglomerate focused on mining, energy, healthcare, ICT, Infrastructure and logistics.

Zungu Investments Company (Zico), headed by Sandile Zungu, is a professionally managed black owned, private equity business with significant mining and non-mining interests.

Seriti Thebe logo

Thebe Investment Corporation is one of South Africa’s leading black controlled investment companies with significant mining services interests. The company is led by Vusi Khanyile with Sizwe Mncwango appointed to the Seriti Resources board.

Board of Directors

Leading our future

The Seriti board of directors consists of the following members:

Dr Anna Mokgokong

A renowned female business figure, Dr Anna Mokgokong is a co-founder and Executive Chairperson of Community Investment Holdings (Pty) Ltd, with widespread experience in the fields of healthcare, academia and commerce. Currently serving on the boards of five listed companies, Dr Anna Mokgokong has also served on the boards of many non-listed entities as well as numerous councils of academic institutions and civil society commissions. A social activist, she uses her considerable business influence to bring about empowerment transformation for women and to create economic equality in the economy of South Africa.

Mike Teke
Deputy Chairman (CEO)

From his beginnings in education to his career in Human Resources, Mike Teke has gained extensive experience in people and business management in BHP and Impala, as well as CEO of Optimum Coal Holdings (prior to it being taken over by Glencore). Mike is the Chairperson and controlling shareholder of the Masimong Group and serves as Chair/Non-Executive Director at the Anchor Group, Rofles Holdings and the Richards Bay Coal Terminal. He is also a past president of the Chamber of Mines and serves on the Council of the Chamber. In keeping with his passion to leave a legacy for the next generation, Mike serves on the board of the University of Johannesburg.

Sandile Zungu

In addition to his role as the founder and Executive Chairman of Zungu Investment Company (Zico), Sandile Zungu currently serves as the Non-Executive Chairman of EOH Holdings, and as Non-Executive Director at Grindrod Limited, and Novus Holdings to name but a few. He is also a member of the BRICS Business Council, serves on the BBBEE Presidential Advisory Council and is the Chairman of the UCT Graduate School of Business Advisory Board.

Godfrey Gomwe

Godfrey Gomwe is the Chief Executive of Anglo American’s global Thermal Coal business. He has held several senior executive positions within the Anglo American group including Executive Director of Anglo American South Africa Limited; Chief Operating Officer of Anglo American South Africa; and Chairman and Chief Executive of Anglo American Zimbabwe. Godfrey is currently on the board of Thebe Investment Corporation (Pty) Ltd, where he is also Chairman of Thebe’s mining subsidiary, Thebe Mining Resources Limited. Godfrey is a Chartered Accountant (Zimbabwe), and holds a Masters degree in Business Leadership from the University of South Africa as well as a Bachelor of Accountancy degree from the University of Zimbabwe.

Executive Committee

Guiding our growth

The executive committee is accountable to the Board through the CEO, and collectively responsible for managing the business of our company.
Our executive committee currently consists of:

Mike Teke
Douglas Gain